Our guide to Bootstrapping Your Business in 2023 |

Mar 14, 2023

There are a lot of different ways to approach doing business. And no one way is the best. If you're one of the business owners who can create a profitable business congratulations! - however it is you manage it.

However, there's another method for building a business that has gained a lot of attention: bootstrapping. We at Mighty, we love bootstrapping likely because we've witnessed founders begin with only a handful of committed members grow into thriving, successful businesses doing 5 and 6 figures a month.


Bootstrapping a business has numerous advantages and is a great road to success. In this article, we're going to introduce you to the concept of bootstrapping. It will be discussed in detail about what it's about and not it, as well as what you'll need to learn to start starting your own business with bootstrapping.


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What is bootstrapping in the business world?


Bootstrapping means building a business to be profitable, without the need for external funding. Today, in the startup market the norm is that founders receive rounds of capital from venture capitalists as well as investors.


Bootstrappers don't take outside funds, and usually focus on reducing their overhead and getting revenue quickly to ensure they do not have to accept this kind of financing.


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Advantages of bootstrapping a company


 

  • Ownership. When you take outside funding or venture capital, you give up ownership. This can make sense in certain situations, and for instance, to start a business from on its feet, particularly if your business requires capital. But the more people you have at the table, the more you are accountable to. If you have a viable company that is able to be bootstrapped, usually you can retain complete the ownership.    
  • Control. We sort of just said the idea, but bootstrapping allows you to the ability to control. It allows you to make choices without answering to outside influence.    
  • Profitability. Bootstrapping is about creating a product that is profitable as quickly as possible. This is a really great way to build a business. If it fails, it fails fast. Certain founders may take large chunks of money from investors. They can go for many years before they realize that the company isn't working.    


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Disadvantages of bootstrapping


 

  • A lesser amount of capital. It's obvious that if don't have outside investors and you don't have the capital to get things off the starting line. Many founders resort towards debt, and it has it's place but you're on the hook for the debt.    
  • A little less knowledge. Ideally, taking investment money isn't simply about giving up the control. You get the voice from experience, guidance and connections. It can be extremely beneficial. That's the reason founders appear to Dragon's Den (well... it's the same reason). The TV exposure ).    
  • Tighter timelines. It is essential to bring your business to profitability as quickly as possible. You could be employed in another position to keep a roof over your head, while building your company.    


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Bootstrapping examples in business


These are some of the companies you see every day but you may not have known that were boot-strapped!


 

  • Apple: Created by Steves, Jobs and Wozniak, Apple started in Steve Jobs's garage in 1976, with the goal to make personal computers accessible for the masses.      
  • Meta Description: Facebook had to be bootstrapped before it went public with an IPO 1 January 2012 and was hoping to raise $5 Billion.    
  • Atlassian: was famously started with Australia by two founding partners who each had a $10,000 credit card.    
  • KFC Harland Sanders started frying chicken in his cafe on the road and a receipt that was secretly dated 11 herbs and spices. Then he began franchising (and dressed like an old colonel ).    
  • Plenty of Fish : An online dating website that was launched as a no-cost app developed from Markus Frind and sold to Match for $575 million.      


Examples of Bootstrapping on Mighty


 

  • Yoga in collaboration with Adriene  began as a YouTube channel run by Adriene Mishler. It grew to 10+ million users and morphed into two successful Yoga apps as well as a community of 220,000 users.      
  • Wealth Builders Community : It was founded by Ashley Fox, the movement offers financial guidance to majority of the individuals Wall Street won't talk to and made $100,000 within its first 2 weeks.      
  • Code Red : A $10 million nutrition and weight loss business launched by Cristy "Code Red" Nickel.      


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A guide to beginning your own business


1. Concentrate on the Ideal Client


The best place for bootstrapping going to start is with the ideal avatar or client (similar to the Ideal Member when beginning the concept of a community). This is particularly true for the creation economy.


It typically boils in the form of:


 

  • Who is your Ideal client?        
  • What problem do they face?        
  • What is your service or product solve this problem for customers?        


It's a little dated now, but for creators, it's hard to match the concept Kevin Kelly wrote about in his memoir, "1000 true fans. "


Instead of selling millions of products, you should focus on those people who are true fans. Develop a business that is profitable from them. It's a great guideline to create a creator-based B2C service.


But whether you're reaching thousands or billions of people it is essential to have a good concept of who they are prior to launching your service or product that could be of value.


2. Profits from the first day


One of the key things for successful bootstrapping is going to be a rapid revenues. This doesn't need to be so in every single case however the longer it takes to achieve revenue, the longer time you'll be working as a creator.


Think about ways to increase revenue speedily. One thing that we've seen work really well in different courses and community businesses is to pre-sell. It can help to generate revenue before you even build something, and it can be the best way to validate the product.


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MVP


When you're playing football or baseball MVP is a term that means something completely distinct.


In the world of business, MVP stands for a minimum viable product. It's easy to be a perfectionist, focusing on ensuring that everything is perfect prior to releasing something to the public. Some founders and entrepreneurs take forever to get everything right.


Enter... a minimum viable product.


The phrase was invented by Eric Reis, who developed the lean startup methods. A minimum viable product is the simplest product that is possible to launch. Instead of worrying about ensuring everything is perfect start with a base product so that you can earn a profit.


In bootstrapped businesses, minimum acceptable products are an essential element of generating revenue. If you're bootstrapping, then you don't have the luxury of having everything perfectly. Start getting some revenue and adapt and learn while you go.


4. One great funnel


There are a lot of options to market products. And established companies might create multi-tiered funnels that bring in customers from advertising and organic searches and social media channels, word of mouth, and who knows what else.


In bootstrapping, it's usually recommended to choose one funnel. Concentrate on one area which works.


Let's take an example. For instance, suppose you realize that advertising your webinar via Facebook works great. You get qualified leads.


Let's say you spend $200 in advertising to get 40 qualified leads. Let's say 2-4 percentage of them actually make a purchase. That's pretty average conversion rate.


This means that one or two people will purchase. We'll say two. If you spend $200 for two customers, your price of acquisition per customer is thus $100.


 

  • Cost per lead (200/40 = $5 per lead)        
  • Cost per acquisition ($200/2 = $100 per customer)        


It is necessary to earn $100 in revenue out of these two customers to break even.


Building a sales funnel is an tried and tested method of building a successful business, and if you can get the numbers right, you can be super successful. For instance, let's suppose that the sales funnel above resulted in customers purchasing a monthly subscription for $50, and the typical customer stays with the company for twelve months. The typical lifetime value of a customer is $600.


You've paid $200 for these two clients, that's worth $1,200 for your business.


Do you think it's worth it?


If you're selling an online course with super low overhead it's an easy decision. If you have a business which is focused on product, and has expenses such as employees, transport and inventory. You must do the math to see the logic behind these numbers.


However, the best benefit of funnels that are well-designed is that it is fairly steady. It takes time to develop your baseline numbers. But eventually, you can feel certain that, if you invest $1,000 into your advertising and you get $6,000 out of it.


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5. Low overhead


This brings us to the third key to great bootstrapping: low overhead.


If you wanted to open an eatery. It would be ridiculously hard to bootstrap it. The equipment you'll need, inventory, a place, permits, and possibly staff. There are many thousands before you earn even a dime.


However suppose you're offering a cohort course. If you choose a great platform (like Mighty! ) You will pay a minimum monthly cost which would cover virtually all aspects of your company. The benefits include a powerful platform, with the capability to personalize it as well as a point of sale.


The price of delivering that cohort course is going to be extremely low. And low overhead makes bootstrapping way simpler.


6. Recurring revenue


This isn't a must, but here's something to think about. If you're in the process of bootstrapping your company, then recurring revenues are a big increase.


Recurring revenue is basically when clients pay you every month. The subscription to Netflix membership or gym membership produces recurring revenue for those businesses.


It is possible to start a consulting business. Generally speaking, you might do a project for the client, and you charge for it. So far so good. Then, you'll need to go find another customer.


The best thing about recurring revenue businesses is that you are able to maintain your customers. As an example, when we see the creation of communities on Mighty, many members will remain members for a long time.


Some businesses gain customers and then need monthly new customers. Recurring revenue businesses, however, gain customers, retain them and then increase the number of customers in their pool of customers. If you've got a lower churn, it's a great option to begin to build a bootstrap.


7. Multiple offers for each ideal member


One of the most interesting paradoxes of business is that often your greatest customers are ones who have already bought from you. If people have purchased something and they are happy with the purchase, they're more willing to purchase from you in the future.


However, a majority of business owners don't realize this. They say "Oh I've already have sold that product to this particular person. "


and they are missing one of their greatest revenue sources: existing customers.


Find ways to give your existing customers additional value. It's what we like to call"the value ladder. It is likely that some of your customers will need more.


sales funnels - value ladder


For example, let's say that you provide a community membership based on career mastery. The community has 100 satisfied members in your community. It's simpler to offer the members something different than search for another 100 members.


What about a career mastermind or an individualized program? How about one-on-one coaching only for a small group of people?


Adding offers for your customers who are already there is intelligent.


8. Incorporate scaling


The last but certainly not least is the key to successfully bootstrapping a enterprise is to put some of the funds back towards scaling. It could be investing back into ads or improving the quality of your products. It could be hiring out certain talents to help you manage your business.


Bootstrapping doesn't only mean getting some cash coming in every month. It's about bringing a company to profitability and a high-value without taking any investor funds.


As you grow in popularity, consider ways to increase the impact of your business and increase revenue.


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Bootstrapping Checklist


 

  • Concentrate on the ideal client        
  • Get revenue ASAP        
  • Make a minimum viable product (or provide)        
  • Create one great funnel        
  • Keep your overhead low        
  • Aim for recurring revenue (if appropriate)        
  • Offer multiple deals to your clients        
  • Make an investment in scaling        


Are you ready to begin?





If you're interested in bootstrapping your business, come build with Mighty! is a platform for cultural programming that brings together community as well as courses, content as well as commerce. Flexible Spaces let you combine conversations, live events, live streaming, member profiles Chat and messaging as well as other features.


You can sell with 135 currencies and even make money through token-gating. We've created a fantastic app that works on every device or we'll partner with you to build a white-label app with Mighty Pro.


A lot of our Mighty hosts have created companies with six to seven figures working from their homes to earn amazing monthly earnings. The businesses that are that are built on Mighty look over all the boxes listed above.


If you're looking to be motivated, browse our case studies, and learn what some amazing business owners have developed on Mighty. If you're looking to get started, take a trial for 14 days - without credit card needed.